For More Information Call

Chris Giddings 210-544-3379


Steve Hilker 620-338-0143

Need A "PIT ATV?" 

Larry @ 785-421-3465 or

 Shawn @ 785-421-8043 or

(785) 421-8482

FAX (785) 421-6472

or send e-mail to:

Oberlin, Kansas


Kevin - 785-475-7336



Kent - 785-475-7270




Recap By Mike Wilson

CJ Johnson Takes URSS Win At Liberal Speedway

The United Rebel Sprint Series wrapped up a two day run in the southwest with their inaugural appearance at the Liberal Fair Grounds in 2009. Thirteen teams checked in for Sunday’s main event and when the dust settled and the checkers flew, C.J. Johnson would add another notch to the win column by topping the twenty five-lap feature. His fourth win of the season under the URSS banner gives Johnson eighteen career rebel victories, just one away from the all time win total held by Jon Johnson.

Kinsley’s Van Kuhn led the field to the green with Liberal native, Ty Williams on the outside pole. Using the high side to his advantage, Williams would lead the field down the back straightaway taking the first circuit with Keefe Hemel, Van Kuhn, Taylor Velasquez, and Barry Crane rounding out the top five.

The field would check up as Kuhn looped coming out of turn one, halting the action. Williams, the leader, would also come to stop in turn four. Both would be unable to continue and Hemel would inherit the lead with Crane, Velasquez, Brian Herbert, and Ray Seemann moving into the top five.

Back under way Hemel would set a frantic pace with Crane, Herbert, Velasquez, and Seemann jockeying for position. With laps winding away, the battle for the lead was heating up as Crane continued to shadow Hemel. Time and time again Crane would drive to the inside of the leader’s door only to have Hemel slam it shut.

Meanwhile C.J. Johnson was quietly making a push to the front. Starting from the tenth position Johnson had made his way to sixth. Using the cushion in turns one and two, Johnson would blast his way into the top five on the ninth lap shuffling Herbert to sixth.

Lap eleven would see Velasquez jump the cushion in turns three and four leaving the door wide open for Seemann. Johnson would also take advantage making it a four-car battle for the lead much to the delight of the Liberal fair grounds.

Johnson would work Seemann for the third position on the thirteenth lap with Hemel holding serve. Crane would continue apply the pressure but as the top two positions slugged it out; Johnson hammered the high side to second. Johnson then set his sights on Hemel and with nine laps to go the Quinter native would take the lead with Hemel, Crane Seemann, and Velasquez checking the top five.

Hemel would continue to battle Crane for the runner up spot but with five laps to go; it would be Seemann making one last gasp. Hugging the low line, Seemann charged from fourth to second but there would be no last lap heroics and time would run out for the Jetmore native, as Johnson would ride the high line to victory lane. Seemann would have to settle for the runner up slot for the second night in a row with Crane, Hemel, and Velasquez rounding out the top five.

The Keizer Aluminum Wheels “Hard Charger Award” went to C.J. Johnson who came from his tenth place starting spot to grab the win.

A-Main: 1-CJ Johnson (45X), 2-Ray Seemann, (72), 3-Barry Crane (30C), Keefe Hemel (11), 5-Taylor Velasquez (21), 6-Brian Herbert (97), 7-Smokey Fairbank (2), 8-Richie Dewell (112), 9-Johns Colbert (79C), 10-Steve Dalton (12D), 11-Ty Williams (1), 12-Van Kuhn (K3), Taylor Milton (91X) DNS

Heat Race Winners:  #1-Ray Seemann, #2-Taylor Velasquez

United Rebel Sprint Series

900 W Victoria St # 15

Oberlin KS. 67749


or e-mail Rick at


All content property of United Rebel Sprint Series® 2006 - 2015.

Website maintained by the United Rebel Sprint Series.