Hagans Claims The Victory In The URSS Motorplex Finale

In their final appearance at the Jetmore Motorplex for the 2007 Season, 31 teams checked in the gate. The fans in the stands weren’t disappointed as the Rebels duked it out in the 25-lap Feature and when it was said and done, Kirby Hagans took the win.

Kinsley Kansas’s Darren Bowman led the field to the green with Turpin Oklahoma’s Tyler Velasquez on the outside pole and it didn’t take long for the action to start. Bowman jumped out to the early lead followed by Velasquez, Mike Spear, Cody Salem and Smokey Fairbank. Six starting Hagans wasted little time coming through the field by lap five he was on Bowman’s bumper with Velasquez, Fairbank and seventh starter Brian Herbert to fifth.

Back in the field, a four-car battle was brewing by lap six for the sixth through ninth positions with Cody Salem, Ray Seemann, Jon Johnson and Justin Schwien as they swapped spots back and forth every lap for the next ten laps. Lap ten saw Hagans take the lead from Bowman with Fairbank, Herbert and Seemann rounding out the top ten.

By lap twenty, the battle for the fifth spot heated up as Seemann, Salem and Johnson as the trio were in nose to tail for the positions. The final five laps had Seemann held his line as Salem and Johnson tried everything they could to make the pass with Johnson taking the sixth position with two to go. As the Checkers flew it was Hagans taking his third win of the Season followed by Bowman, Fairbank, Herbert and Seemann to round out the top five.

Heat race winners were Taylor Velasquez, Brian Herbert, Darren Bowman and Jon Johnson.  Winners of the Twin Qualifiers were Kris Moore and Brandon Fisher.

The Weld Racing Wheels “Hard Charger” of the race went to Kris Miller who raced his way from his eighteen starting position to finish in twelfth.

A-Main – 1) Kirby Hagans, 2) Darren Bowman, 3) Smokey Fairbank, 4) Brian Herbert, 5) Ray Seemann, 6) John Johnson, 7) Cody Salem, 8)Taylor Velasquez, 9) Tyler Knight. 10) Justin Schwien, 11) Brandon Fisher, 12) Kris Miller, 13) Kris Moore, 14) Randy Bantam, 15) Ken Lutters, 16) Jeff Radcliffe, 17) Brooke Boyd, 18) Corey Lutters, 19) Mike Spear, 20) Bart Boyd.

Twin Qualifiers – Top Five Transfer to A-Main

Qualifier #1 – 1) Moore, 2) R. Bantam, 3) Brooke Boyd, 4) Kris Miller, 5) C. Lutters, 6) Justin Chaffin, 7) Travis Decker, 8)Mike Oliver, 9) Greg Thyfault, Doug Roth DNS Cody Keiswetter DNS

Qualifier #2 – 1) Brandon Fisher, 2) Tyler Knight, 3) Justin Schwien, 4) K. Lutters, 5) Jeff Radcliffe, 6) Bill Hays, 7) Ray Burns, 8) Red Bernbeck, 9) Steve Dalton, 10) Lance Davis

United Rebel Sprint Series

900 W Victoria St # 15

Oberlin KS. 67749


or e-mail Rick at


All content property of United Rebel Sprint Series® 2007.

Website maintained by the United Rebel Sprint Series.