Tim Perkins Takes URSS Win At Minneapolis Raceway


The United Rebel Sprint Series made it’s debut appearance at the Minneapolis Raceway a memorable one with yet another first time winner in the 2007 Season. Parker Colorado driver Tim Perkins took the top prize, but he had to stave off two challenges in the late laps to hang on for the win.

Greg Thyfault led the field to the green in the 25-lap Feature and took the top spot followed closely by Doug Roth, Perkins, Randy Bantam and Corey Lutters.  Thyfault held the top spot for the first ten circuits until the leaders started to get into traffic. Roth and Perkins were closing in on Thyfault when he got caught behind a slower car and Perkins shot around them to take the lead on lap twelve.

The lone caution of the night came out on the following lap for an incident in turn three as Ray Seeman made contact with another car sending him into the wall. On the restart,  Perkins jumped out to the lead with Thyfault, Roth, Cory Lutters and Jeff Radcliffe in tow. Back in the pack, 12th starting Cody Salem was making a charge through the field, and by lap 15 had made it to the 5th positon closely followed by Justin Schwien and Smokey Fairbank.

The final five laps were a shootout as Roth, Radcliffe and Salem all were bunched up and on the move towards the front with Perkins in their sights. Radcliffe and Salem battled each other for the third spot, Roth closed in on Perkins and mounted a late race challenge for the win but Perkins held on to take the checkers. Roth took the second spot, while Radcliffe edged Salem by inches for third and Schwien rounding out the top five.

The Weld Racing Wheels “Hard Charger” of the race was Cody Salem who came from his 12th starting position to finish 4th.

Heat race winners were Corey Lutters and Ray Seeman.

A-Main –

1-Tim Perkins, 2-Doug Roth, 3-Jeff Radcliffe, 4-Cody Salem, 5-Justin Schwein, 6-Greg Thyfault, 7-Smokey Fairbank, 8-Randy Bantam, 9-Corey Lutters, 10-Ken Lutters, 11-Josh Fairbank, 12-Bill Hays, 13-Ray Seeman, 14-Paul Flynn, Larry Radcliffe (DNS)

United Rebel Sprint Series

900 W Victoria St # 15

Oberlin KS. 67749


or e-mail Rick at


All content property of United Rebel Sprint Series® 2007.

Website maintained by the United Rebel Sprint Series.