C. J. Johnson Takes Season Opening Win At Oberlin Speedway 

May 5th, 2007 -  Despite all the Weather woes that canceled most races in the State, the 2007 URSS Series opener went off without a hitch. Twenty Sprinters checked in to do battle at the Oberlin Speedway and they did not disappoint the fans in the stands with some great racing on a very fast track. Corey Lutters made the best of his first URSS start by leading the field to the green, but Travis Decker who started outside the front row, looped it into the infield to bring out the first caution of the night. On the restart, Lutters held the point until lap the lap seven restart caused by Smokey Fairbank slowing on the front stretch with ignition problems and a turn two tangle involving Doug Roth and Tommy Williams which sent all three to pits for the evening. C. J. Johnson, driving his father’s familiar #86,  never relinquished the lead for the remainder of the Feature. Lap fourteen featured two events at opposite ends of the track as Travis Decker caught the cushion and did a soft roll I turn one, ending his night with a battered top wing but no other damage to the car. At the same time, Bill Hays and Cody Kieswetter spun in turn four with Hays backing it into the turn four guardrail. Hays was able to continue with minimal damage to the car. The last caution of the night flew when Mark Bantam looped his car in turn four. The race for the second spot was a good one between Justin Schwien and Ray Seeman as they battled for the position until Seeman took it for good with three laps to go.

The B-Feature saw Reed Bernbeck lead the field to the green. The race featured the Father and Son team of Greg and Patrick Thyfault, and would see both the highs and lows of Sprint Car racing in the same race. 17 year old Patrick took a wild ride off of turn two, flipping three times before coming to a rest by the catch fence. Patrick walked away from the crash uninjured, remarkably his car survived the flip with only minor damage. Greg Thyfault was involved in a heated battle with Ray Seeman for several laps before making the pass stick coming off of turn two and taking the victory.

Heat races winners were Fairbank, Johnson and Schwien. The Weld acing Wheels Hard Charger Award went to Cody Salem, who started in the 17th position and raced his way to a 4th place finish.

A-Main – 1- C.J. Johnson, 2-Ray Seeman, 3- Justin Schwien, 4th- Cody Salem, 5th- Randy Bantam, 6th- Greg Thyfault, 7th-Mike Spear, 8th-Mark Bantam, 9th-Reed Bernbeck, 10th- Cody Keiswetter, 11th- Bill Hays, 12th- Tom Belsky, 13th- Corey Lutters, 14th- Travis Decker, 15th- Smokey Fairbank, 16th-Tommy Williams, 17th-Doug Roth, 18th- Todd Johnson, 19th- Tim Perkins

United Rebel Sprint Series

900 W Victoria St # 15

Oberlin KS. 67749


or e-mail Rick at


All content property of United Rebel Sprint Series® 2007.

Website maintained by the United Rebel Sprint Series.