Johnson Snatches Another Win At URSS Oberlin Speedway Finale

Oberlin, Ks. 9/3/06 The final appearance at Oberlin Speedway for the United
Rebel Sprint Series 305 Sprint Cars saw 17 drivers check in for some great
racing action Sunday night.  Following on the footsteps of Justin Schwien’s
first URSS Feature Win Saturday night at Norton, hopes where high for yet
another first time winner Sunday Night.  Joining the Rebel Series for Sundays
show was Rick Salem, driving the Larry Radcliffe owned number 8 after a
10-year absence from the drivers seat.  Also returning to racing action 
this weekend was the 84T of Travis Decker, who put together a new ride after
destroying his car in a wild tumble at the Goodland Kansas race on 
August 19th.

McCook Nebraska’s Darren Berry led the field to the green flag of the 
20 Lap A-Main and by the end of the first lap outside pole-sitter Tim Perkins 
from Parker Co. assumed the lead. Fifth starting Smokey Fairbank saw an 
opening at the drop of the green and dove to the bottom and drove into the 
second spot. Fairbank from Ransom, Ks. chased Perkins for the top spot until 
lap seven when he took the spot away.  Ninth place starter Jon Johnson from
Utica, Ks. and Saturday night winner Justin Schwien fought their way to 
the third and fourth spots respectively by lap seven with Johnson taking 
the second spot from Perkins on lap eight. 
Perkins and Schwien battled for the third spot laps eight through eleven 
before Schwien captured the spot for good on the twelfth lap. North Platte, 
Ne. veteran Tommy Williams, who started fifteen at the drop of the green,
weaved his way through the field to the sixth spot by lap eight closely following
fifth running Bill Hays from Elwood, Ne running only his second night in a sprint car. 
Fairbank was steadily pulling away in the lead until encountering lap traffic. 
Fairbank continued using the low line to work his way through traffic until the 
two to go sign was given, when the “Kansas Tornado” who had been quietly 
working his way through the lap traffic finally got within striking distance.
Fairbank said “He could hear the thunder coming” as Johnson used a 
lapped car as a pick and went around Fairbank on the high side to take the 
lead and relegating Smokey to the runner up spot with Schwien, Perkins and Dodge 
City ’s Nick King rounding out the top five.

Heat race winners were Rick Salem, Justin Schwien and Smokey Fairbank, 
with Larry Radcliffe picking up the B-Main win.

Heat One: 1-Salem 2-Johnson 3-Perkins 4-Hays 5-Decker 6-Radcliffe

Heat Two: 1-Schwien 2-King 3-Smith 4-Boyd 5-Williams 6-Field (DNS)

Heat Three: 1-Fairbank 2-M. Bantam 3-Berry 4-R. Bantam 5-Roth (DNS)

B-Main: 1- Radcliffe 2-Decker 3-B. Boyd 4- R. Bantam 5-Williams (DNF)

A Main:
        1-      Jon Johnson 86
        2-      Smokey Fairbank 2
        3-      Justin Schwien 76J
        4-      Tim Perkins 99
        5-      Nick King 00
        6-      Bill Hays 33
        7-      Tommy Williams 29T
        8-      Darren Berry 44
        9-      Rick Salem 8
        10-     Travis Decker 84T
        11-     Mark Bantam 82
        12-     Billy Smith 13
        13-     Brooke Boyd 3B
        14-     Randy Bantam 5R
        15-     Larry Radcliffe 7R
        Kyle Fields 72 (DNS)
             Doug Roth 24R (DNS)


United Rebel Sprint Series

702 W. Frontier Parkway

Oberlin KS. 67749


or e-mail Rick at


All content property of United Rebel Sprint Series® 2006.


Original Design by BST Promotions. Website maintained by the United Rebel Sprint Series.