Norton Ks. 9/2/06   Justin Schwien finally ended his run of 2nd place finishes as 
he charged from his 8th starting position and then held of a last lap assault 
from Jon Johnson to win his first United Rebel Sprint Series ‘A’ feature on 
Saturday night in Norton, Ks. The race format used by the URSS worked to 
perfection as the race fans were treated to a great night of exciting action as 
17 cars checked into the pits of Elmwood Park Speedway’s big half mile.

McCook Nebraska’s Darren Berry led the field to the green flag with 
outside front row starter Larry Radcliffe beating him into the first turn to take
the lead.  Jumping right in behind Radcliffe was Dodge City’s Nick King keeping 
constant pressure on the Hill City driver until the yellow flew on lap six for debris 
as the inside wing panel flew off of Tommy Williams mount going down the front 
straightaway.  By this time Schwien had moved through the field and was running 
third with 9th starting Johnson hot on his heels.  During the yellow King pulled 
off with an overheating engine putting Schwien and Johnson on Radcliffe’s bumper 
for the restart. When the green flag waved Schwien disposed of Radcliffe down 
the long back straightaway with Johnson also getting by him coming off turn four.  
A determined Schwien started to put some distance between himself and Johnson 
until with four to go Johnson found some moisture on top and began reeling in the 
young driver. 
About three car lengths separated the two when the white flag flew.  Johnson 
made a last lap assault as he ran hard into turn three and had the fans on their
feet as he dove to the bottom and pulled up almost even with Schwien coming
off turn four for the checkers, only to be outrun to the flag by the jubilant first time
 winner from Russell Ks.   Radcliffe followed in third with a half winged Williams 
holding off Smokey Fairbanks to round out the top five. Norton hard charger 
Billy Smith came from his twelfth starting spot for sixth with Goodland’s 
Mark Bantam seventh, Darren Berry eighth and Parker Colorado’s Tim Perkins 
leading  Randy Bantam to round out the top ten.  
Heat races were won by Johnson, Schwien and King with Perkins taking
the B feature.

A feature results
1.      76J Justin Schwien
2.      86 Jon Johnson
3.      8 Larry Radcliffe
4.      29T Tommy Williams
5.      2 Smokey Fairbank
6.      13 Billy Smith
7.      82 Mark Bantam
8.      44 Darren Berry
9.      99 Tim Perkins
10.     5R Randy Bantam
11.     33 Bill Hays
12.     72 Kyle Fields
13.     84T Travis Decker
14.     24R Doug Roth
15.     00 Nick King
16.     28 Tom Belsky (DNS)
17.     7R Cody Keiswetter (DNS)


United Rebel Sprint Series

702 W. Frontier Parkway

Oberlin KS. 67749


or e-mail Rick at





All content property of United Rebel Sprint Series® 2006.


Original Design by BST Promotions. Website maintained by the United Rebel Sprint Series.