For More Information Call

Steve Hilker 620-338-0143

Need A "PIT ATV?" 

Larry @ 785-421-3465 or

 Shawn @ 785-421-8043 or

(785) 421-8482

FAX (785) 421-6472

or send e-mail to:

Oberlin, Kansas


Kevin - 785-475-7336



Kent - 785-475-7270




Jason Martin Captures URSS Win at Thomas County Speedway

The United Rebel Sprint Series made its debut at the Thomas County Speedway Friday night in conjunction with the Thomas County Fair. Nineteen teams made the trek to the 3/8’s mile high-banked oval and the fans weren’t disappointed as the action was fast and furious. When the checkers flew it was Liberal Kansas’s Jason Martin picking up his third URSS Feature win of 2009.

McCook Nebraska’s Darren Berry led the field to the green flag, but it was Willie Wynn jumping out to the lead with Berry, Jon Johnson, Ty Williams and Smokey Fairbank rounding out the top five. Wynn continued his lead until a spinning Taylor Velasquez brought out the yellow to bunch up the field.

On the restart, Wynn once again jumped out to the lead, but on lap three the yellow once again came out for Darren Berry as he spun and collected Fairbank ending both of their nights. Wynn took the point again but had Williams, Martin and Jon Johnson on hi back bumper. Martin made the pass for the runner-up spot on lap five and turned up the pressure on Wynn. Martin used the cushion to assume the lead on lap six.

Back in the pack, Velasquez had been steadily working his way back to the front after his earlier bobble and had made his way back the ninth spot by lap six. Velasquez picked his way through traffic and was in sixth place Jeff Radcliffe’s tire tracks by lap nine and looking to take the position away, Velasquez made the pass stick on lap ten.

 Up front Martin continued to show the way, but Ty Williams was hot on the heels of Wynn for the runner-up spot. The pair had been locked in a fierce battle for the spot for half a dozen laps before Williams use the high line to take the position on lap eleven. Wynn soon had more company as the “Kansas Tornado” Jon Johnson and Corey Lutters were soon pressuring him for the third spot. Wynn held the low line forced Johnson to use the high side to try and make the pass. Velasquez, who had made his way past Lutters for the fifth spot, soon joined the pair.

 The trio were locked in a battle for seven laps until Velasquez made the pass on Johnson for the fourth spot on lap twenty-one, Velasquez quickly shot by Wynn to grab the third spot on lap twenty-two. Lap twenty-three saw the final caution come out as Wynn bobbled in turn one causing sixth running CJ Johnson to spin ending his night.

 A green/white/checker finish was set up as Martin once again took the point followed by Williams and Velasquez for the two-lap shootout. Velasquez made the pass for second coming to the white flag, shuffling Williams to third. As the checkered flag fell it was Martin taking the win with Velasquez, Williams, Johnson and Jeff Radcliffe rounding out the top five.

The Keizer Aluminum Wheels “Hard Charger Award” went to Jason Martin who came from his ninth starting spot to pick up the win.

Heat Race winners were: #1-Ty Williams, #2-Jason Martin, #3-Jon Johnson

A-Main: 1-Jason Martin (36), 2-Taylor Velasquez (21), 3- Ty Williams (1), 4-Jon Johnson (86), 5-Jeff Radcliffe (21R), 6-Chuck Lutters (55), 7-Reed Bernbeck (C3), 8-Blake Bogenhagen (27B), 9-Willie Wynn (36W), 10-Chad Salem (17), 11-Micheal Williams (77W), 12-Randy Bantam (5R), 13-Corey Lutters (07), 14-CJ Johnson (45X), 15-Ken Lutters (79), 16-Bill Hays (2H), 17-Smokey Fairbank (2), 18-Darren Berry (12), 19-Shawn Radcliffe (3R)

Heat #1: 1-Ty Williams, 2-Taylor Velasquez, 3-Chuck Lutters, 4-Reed Bernbeck, 5-Bill Hays, 6-Blake Bogenhagen, 7-Chad Salem

Heat #2: 1-Jason Martin, 2-Smokey Fairbank, 3-Shawn Radcliffe, 4-Darren Berry, 5-Randy Bantam, CJ Johnson DNS

Heat #3: 1-Jon Johnson, 2-Willie Wynn, 3-Corey Lutters, 4-Jeff Radcliffe, 5-Ken Lutters, 6-Micheal Williams

United Rebel Sprint Series

702 W. Frontier Parkway

Oberlin KS. 67749


or e-mail Rick at


All content property of United Rebel Sprint Series® 2006-2009.

Website maintained by the United Rebel Sprint Series.