Herbert Takes Jetmore URSS Checkers

Sunday May 27th - Dodge City’s Brian Herbert claimed his first United Rebel Sprint Series main event Sunday afternoon at the Jetmore Motorplex as they opened thier 2007 racing season at the 3/8 mi. high-bank oval in Jetmore Ks. Twenty-Six teams checked in under beautiful sunny skies as Herbert took advantage of leader Kirby Hagans untimely flat right rear tire late in the race, to take over the lead and give the URSS it’s fifth winner in as many races this season.

Tyler Knight from Wright, Kansas led the field to the green flag with Kinsley’s Darren Bowman on the outside pole. Nearby Lacrosse’s Kirby Hagans quickly jumped to lead from his third starting spot with Knight and Bowman closely following. Herbert and new URSS Point Leader Smokey Fairbank of Ransom, Kansas held on to the 4th and 5th spots respectively.

Lap 6 saw Hill City’s Larry Radcliffe take a lazy roll off of turn while trying to get around Parker Colorado’s Tim Perkins who had suffered a flat left rear tire. Radcliffe was okay after the incident, but did not return to action. Parker made repairs to his car and returned to the action.

Herbert took the 2nd spot away from Knight on lap 11, while 2006 URSS Champion Jon Johnson and Ray Seeman worked their way through traffic to the 7th and 8th spots by Lap 15. By lap 18, Fairbank and Fisher had made their way to the 4th and 5th spots after trading the positions for several laps.    

Lap 19 saw the Leader Hagans  pull off the track with a flat tire during a yellow, giving the lead to Herbert. Hagans rejoined the field as the green flag dropped once again with Knight, Fairbank, Fisher, and Bowman rounding out the top five with the “Kansas Tornado” Jon Johnson  in 6th spot and Seeman in 7th. Lap 21 saw 3rd place Fairbank lose the left rear off of his mount ending his day.  On the restart, Herbert pulled away and went on to take the checkers followed by Fisher, Knight, Bowman and Johnson rounding out the top five.

Heat Race winners were Fisher, Johnson, Bowman and Seeman. The Weld Racing Wheels “Hard Charger Award” went to Bill Hays who started 20th and finished in the 10th position.

A-Main: 1-Herbert 2-Fisher 3-Knight 4-Bowman 5-J.Johnson 6-Seeman 7-K.Lutters 8-olbert 9-Dalton 10-Hays 11-Kieswetter 12-Hagans 13-Perkins 14-Fairbank 15-Bernberk 16-J.Radcliffe 17-R.Bantam 18-Salem 19-L.Radcliffe 20-Boyd

B-Main 1-Perkins 2-Dalton 3-K. Lutters 4-R.Bantam 5-Bernbeck 6-J.Radcliffe 7-Boyd 8-Colbert 9-Kieswetter 10-Hays 11 Burns 12-Chaffin 13-T.Johnson 14-C.Lutters 15-Kuhn 16-G.Thyfault

Next action for the URSS Rebels will be Saturday June 2nd, round two of the “Duel in Dodge” at Dodge City Raceway Park racing starting at 7:00 PM.

United Rebel Sprint Series

702 W. Frontier Parkway

Oberlin KS. 67749


or e-mail Rick at


All content property of United Rebel Sprint Series® 2007.

Website maintained by the United Rebel Sprint Series.